top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 07: You are Not a Failure

Reading: Acts 6


I guess it is my upbringing. Whenever something goes wrong, I blame it on myself. I should know better. I should work harder. I should have made a different decision. I should... Albert, you are such a failure!


It hurts. But I can't tell anyone. Because I should ...


Until my mom showed me what grace and forgiveness was.


"Son, if God allows you to go through this, take heed, and pay close attention to what God is teaching you."


1. The "Failure" of the Early Church


The disciples in the early Church took Jesus seriously.


Jesus said, "Love your neighbour as yourself." So, they took care of their widows. They sent food to their widows every single day!


However, despite their hard work, something was not right. They somehow neglected a group of widows!


How could that happen? They have done everything they could. They have sent out words and notices.


Here is what went wrong. The "local" Jews forgot that there was a group of "overseas" Jews among them.


They were born and raised "overseas." They spoke Greek. They couldn't understand your Aramaic. And you sent these widows home hungry! What kind of Christian were you?


Now, in a situation like this, you have a choice. You may conclude that you are such a failure. You can never do anything right. You should shut down the whole thing and go home.


Or, you may choose to see it as the gracious God giving you a divine opportunity to grow!


The early disciples chose the second option.


2. For the Glory of God


They appointed a group of seven Greek-speaking men to look into the issue. Why Greek-speaking? Because they knew it's not just about the food. It's also about understanding the widows, talking to them, loving and caring for them in a way they need!


Now, "problem solved" is just the first achievement. As a result of their renewed effort, "the word of God spread. The number of disciples in Jerusalem increased rapidly ..." (6:7) All for the glory of God!


3. Let's get personal


My friend, let's face it. You made that mistake. You could have done better. But listen! Your "failure" has no right to define you. Your God does! If your God says that you are redeemed, who in the world can say otherwise?


"I am a failure" belongs to the "old normal." Leave that behind. Don't carry the baggage with you. The Bible says,


"Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." (Romans 8:1)


My friend, raise your head up. Embrace your mistake, repent, and let God transform your life. All for the glory of God!


Reflection:


Is there any regret in your life that you keep coming back to? Can you bring it to God and allow Him to heal it? How can you allow God to redeem it for His glory?


Prayer for Today:


Dear God,


You are a generous God. Your loving-kindness is beyond my imagination. You have accepted me as I am. You have given me a second chance. God, today I commit myself to you. I refuse to allow my failure to define me. Instead, God, I accept who you say I am. Please heal my past, transform me, and help me to bring glory to you. I am yours.


In Jesus' name. Amen.




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page