top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

From Duty to Delight




In my upbringing, the concept of "duty" is important. It's not about whether I like it or not, it's about "our" well-being. Mom started working after dinner, it's my duty to do the dishes. My sister will mop the floor.


“Duty” is not a popular word. It implies an obligation. Somebody other than myself can hold me accountable. "Duty" also implies works that I may not like or enjoy. And we hate that.


However, my family didn't think that way. We are a family. We care for one another. Now that I am (slightly) older, I realize that "duty" is just our way of saying, "I love you, we will share the load together." I still don't like doing the dishes, but I willingly do it anyway.


Over the years, there is a subtle change in my heart. There is a gradual shift from “duty” to “delight.” While the behavior may not change, the heart does. When my boy was still a baby, I insisted on changing his diapers whenever I am home. It’s smelly and messy, but I managed to make it a happy event (most of the time). Now, when I remove everything from my bedroom to do deep cleaning behind the cabinets and under the bed, I know it’s an expression of my care for my family (despite the sneezing and running nose caused by the dust).


There is a major difference between “I get to do this” versus “I have to do this.” “I have to” is unpleasant. But the attitude of “I get to” redeems the mundane and make it delightful.


Make the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” (Ephesians 5:16)


I pray that God will help us see opportunities in the midst of challenges and heartbreaks. I pray that we will come out stronger. Even in the midst of all the “I have to,” I pray that God will allow you to see something so precious that you will thank God because you see the precious “I get to” part.


The original devotional is published here.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page