top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 03: Look Upward and Outward

Reading: Acts 2:1-14

It is uncomfortable getting stuck "in between normals." The inability to see the future feels like a lingering low-grade fever that never goes away, reminding us of our predicament and needs. This often drives us to look inward. The only thing we can think of is "me."


But it doesn't need to be this way. The reading for today opens our eyes to a higher reality.


1. Look Upward and be Grateful.


Today, we read about Pentecost, the Greek name for the Jewish Shavuot. It's a celebration of the “first fruit” of the harvest.

After months of labour, farmers are ready to reap their harvest. It’s their reward. However, Shavuot reminds them of a higher reality - the gracious God and His providence.


While farmers could plough the fields and sow the seeds, it's God who sends them rain and causes the grains to grow. In a very real sense, the farmers are living by faith!


But focusing on their inability to control the rain is not a good strategy. Working faithfully plus trusting God is.


So, instead of heaping all the harvests into their barns, they offer the “first fruit” as an act of worship! They acknowledge that God is the true source of hope.


Don't you think that we should also do the same?


2. Look Outward and be Gracious.

Now, Pentecost is often associated with the mysterious “tongue.” Many wonder what the “tongues of fire” is and what “speaking in tongues” (2:3-4) means. These are important questions, but not as important as what are they here “for”?


Why did God enable the disciples to speak in other people's native languages?

Here is an obvious answer. The climax of Acts 2 is not the tongue, but the section after it. The gift is given not for the disciples to look good, but to enable other people to hear the gospel. True love points outward.


As we journey through this land of "in between normals," we need to learn new kingdom values. The "it's all about me" mentality has no place in Jesus' kingdom. "Look at me!" is now replaced with "How can I serve you?"


Paradoxically, joy and meaning come not so much from looking inward, but by looking upward and outward.


Reflection:


What would my "first fruit" worship to God look like? What can I do to express my gratitude to God?


Prayer for today:


Dear God,


You know everything that is in me. You know my aspirations and also my fears. Thank you for accepting me as I am. Thank you also for all the things you have already given me. Please help me to be grateful for what I already have, rather than be anxious about what I cannot control. Please also help me to take my eyes away from myself and learn to care for other people.


In Jesus' name, I pray. Amen.

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page