top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again!


So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28?


In fact, we do!


After 2 years of house arrest, Paul managed to appeal his case to Caesar who vindicated and released him. He then went on to bring the Gospel to Spain as he had planned some time ago. (Romans 15:24) This is what we called Paul's "Fourth Missionary Journey."


I Press on ...


Meanwhile, Paul the Apostle of the Holy Stubbornness (Day 21) remained stubborn.


After decades of ministry, with all the good, the bad, and the ugly, this is how Paul described his attitude:


"Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, ..." (Phil 3:13)


Wait! Paul! Wait!


I get the "forgetting" part. Your success yesterday doesn't guarantee your success tomorrow. This part I understand.


But how old are you now, Paul? You are probably in your late-50s, a bit "too old" in your culture for "straining toward ... ", right?


"Nope!" Paul would say. "I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus."


You may retire from your job, but you never retire from your calling.


In fact, even at his age, Paul said, "I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it."


Brother Paul, thanks for demonstrating both the holy stubbornness and humility at the same time.


I Pass on ...


Besides "pressing on," there is something special in Paul's life. You see Paul very intentional in creating opportunities for young leaders.


In one of those trips, Paul left Titus in Crete (Titus 1:5) and Timothy in Ephesus (1 Tim 1:3). There were some important issues that Paul wanted them to deal with.


But Titus and Timothy were very different!


The young Titus had proven himself competent and trustworthy when he negotiated a reconciliation between Paul and the Corinthians. Titus was certainly a leader material.


Timothy, however, ahem ...


Unlike Titus, Timothy seems "weak." He was probably quite dependent on Paul, young, and a bit timid. There was a real possibility that he might be looked down upon. On top of that, his health was not at the best.


But yet, despite all these apparent "weaknesses," Paul asked Timothy to shoulder some real tough responsibilities.


Paul had become a lot more gracious and patient.


Now that Paul was older, he was very intentional in investing and taking a chance on young leaders. He created opportunities for Titus and Timothy, and put his own name behind these young leaders.


History will forever remember these young guys as the first Bishop of Crete and first bishop of Ephesus!


My friend, may I appeal to you to do the same. On the day when you meet your Saviour face to face, you will not only say "this is what I did", but also "these are who I raised up."


As we continue with our life journey of "in between normals," let's continue to "press on" and "pass on" before we "move on."


I move on ...


One thing led to another, Paul was put in prison again. Just before he died in Rome around A.D. 65, he wrote to Timothy.


"I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith." (2 Tim 4:7)


Now, I am ready to face my maker.


Reflection:


How would you compare the "you" today with the "you" 3 years ago? How have you matured? How would you like to describe yourself in 3 years time? Who in your life can you "create opportunity" for?


Prayer for Today:


Father God, I thank you for the life of Paul. He was such a great guy but not without his human flaws. I thank you for how you have helped him grow over time. God, would you please do the same to me? I want to become the person you designed me to be. I want to live a life of meaning and significance. I also want to be known not just by what I did, but also who I helped. Please give me the courage, patience, and wisdom to put it into practice.


In Jesus' name. Amen




32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Day 28: Keep Worship when it is Hard

Reading: Acts 27 In today's reading, Paul finally set sail for Rome! It's amazing to trace his route through the Mediterranean sea. But it wasn't an easy journey! The voyage started pretty well. But a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page