top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 04: Don't Say Impossible

Reading: Acts 3:1-26

Today we met a man without a name. He was simply referred to as “a man lame from birth.” He couldn’t even make his own way to the Temple to beg for money.

Reading the story, one gets the impression that this man had accepted his fate. When he encountered Apostle Peter and John, all that he asked for was money. It’s just another day.

Let’s speculate a little bit. Do you think he ever wished that he could walk? I guess so. As he grew up, I am sure he has wished that he could run around and play like other kids, or go to work and live his own life.

But it has been too long. The disability has taken a toll on his dignity. Bitterness turned into numbness. He was convinced that there was no hope and there was nothing that he could do.

He might have given up on himself, but surely God hasn’t.

“Sir, do you have change?” said that man who was lame from birth.

“Nope! I don’t!” Replied the 2 strangers.

“Gee, what a bad day.”

“However, I am going to give you everything that I have. In the name of Jesus, stand up and walk!”

“Come on! Get away from me! I might be lame! I might be useless! But don’t fool with me. Stand up and walk? Don’t you know …. Wait …. ”

I want to draw a lesson here. You and I may not be struggling with physical challenges like this man. But some of us may struggle with issues that impose significant obstacles in our lives.


Some of them may be so deep-seated, have been there for so long, that we have given up hope long ago. We live with them as if this is the only “normal” we can expect.


You may be right. But perhaps God is inviting you to join Him in His miracles - in your life. Today.


You may not be able to change your circumstances, but you can change how you respond. God can redeem even the worse of all situations for good. (Romans 8:28)


You may be dealing with it on your own all along, but perhaps God wants you to ask for help. You don't need to deal with it alone.

Today is not just another day. There is hope. A new normal is possible. Rise up and walk.


Reflection:


What is the one "impossible" thing that God seems to be nudging you to reconsider?


Prayer for today:


Dear God,


You are sovereign and you know everything. There are things in my life that I cannot control. Today, I surrender them to you. I need your help. Please give me your power and courage. I believe you can still perform miracles today. Nothing is impossible for you. Please send me help and open a door for me. I want to experience you in a way that I have never known before.


I pray in the most powerful name of Jesus Christ my Lord. Amen.

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page