top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 08: Time to Let Go

Updated: Sep 11, 2020

Reading: Acts 7


It's a long reading today! Well done!


We already met Stephen in yesterday's reading. He was a man full of power and God's grace. (6:8) God was so present with him that his face looked like that of an angel. (6:15)


Yet, he was wrongly accused by his opponents.


"Are these charges true?" asked the High Priest.


Instead of simply replying with a "no," Stephen launched into a detailed recounting of the history of Israel! His accusers were following the footstep of their forefathers who wrongly accused God's prophets!


Stephen's self-defence didn't work. In the end, he died a martyr's death.


"Where is God?" you might ask. "Where is justice? Why didn't God do anything about it? It's so unfair!"


I am asking the same questions too.


However, I am not asking for Stephen. I ask for myself.


I suspect you have suffered injustice in your life too! The wounds are deep and some of them still hurt. It's unfair. How can they treat you like that?


When Jesus was dying on the cross, he prayed, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing." (Luke 23:34)


Now, Stephen prayed, "Lord, do not hold this sin against them." (Acts 7:60)


What in the world are they doing? How can they forgive?


You know, we were forced to leave our "old normal." It's not our choice. But it's our choice to carry the baggage with us.


As we sojourn through the land of "in between normals," we can choose to leave behind the baggage that has been dragging our feet for so long. Or, we can choose to keep them on our backs.


Letting go is never meant to be easy. It's never meant to be done instantly. Instead, it takes time to embrace the wounds, feel the pain, and grieve the loss of people and things rightfully belong to us! They were taken away from us, against our will, and we have never agreed to that!


So, where is the comfort?


Honestly, I don't know. The only thing I know is that my God suffered for me and with me.


"But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed." (Isaiah 53:5)


Years ago I was stuck in such a dark time that I was ready to give up. In the end, I went to God and said, "God, in you alone I rest my case."


And God replied, "My grace is sufficient for you." (2 Corinthians 12:9)


It took me years to do that. But I am glad I did.


Reflection:


Who is the one person that you find it so hard to forgive? What did they do that makes letting go so difficult? What is the one small step that you can take to help you forgive in the future?


Prayer for Today:


Father God,


It makes me uncomfortable to read about forgiveness. It's not something I am ready for. You know what happened and the hurts it has inflicted on me. But God, I submit my heart to you. Please heal my heart and bring closure to it. Thank you for being kind and gentle to me. Please guide me one step at a time. Help me to process it in a way that I can handle. I pray that one day you will bring me to a point where I can truly let go and forgive.


In Jesus' name. Amen.










44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page