top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 13: You Cannot Stop God

Reading: Acts 12


The name "Herod" doesn't sound good for Christians. So far, none of my friends named their sons Herod.


The first time you encounter "King Herod" is probably when he killed all baby boys in Bethlehem. (Matt 2) This is "Herod the Great" who died ca. 4 BC.


In today's reading, we meet another "King Herod." This is Herod Agrippa I, a grandson of Herod the Great, king of Judea from 41 - 44 AD. (I know, it's confusing.)


Agrippa was a bad king. He put lots of Christians into prison. He even killed James, one of Jesus' 12 disciples. (12:2)


Agrippa was also a prideful man. One day, while addressing a crowd, he heard people shouting, "This is the voice of a god, not of a man." (12:22)


Interesting! So, what did Agrippa do?


According to the historian Josephus, on that day, Agrippa wore a garment wholly made of silver. The reflection of sunlight made him shone like a god. Upon hearing such flattery from the crowd, Agrippa did absolutely nothing!


He tacitly accepted it!


So, what happened to this murderous king who secretly coveted a divine title?


The Sovereign Judgment of God


He died a few days later.


The Bible says it's a judgment of God. (12:23)


Look! The lesson for today is not to wish ill on evil people. The point is: God is sovereign!


"Do not take revenge, my dear friends, but leave room for God’s wrath," says Apostle Paul, whose earlier life was marked by violence.


But how could Paul say that? This sounds so passive!


I know. But it is God himself who said, “It is mine to avenge; I will repay.” (Deut 32:35)


My friend, "Do not fret when wicked men seem to succeed! Do not envy evildoers!" (Psalm 37:1, NET)


God has a timeframe that you and I may not understand. And honestly, we don't need to, and we may not be able to! He will act according to His own plan, at His own time!


The Higher Plan of God


I love how this chapter ends. It seems totally irrelevant, yet it is so profound.


"When Barnabas and Saul had finished their mission, they returned from Jerusalem, taking with them John, also called Mark." (12:25)


I sometimes joke that God is the best Human Resource Director in the universe. While we are so fixated on what's in front of us, God is silently putting in place all the people needed to change the world in a way that nobody can imagine.


You cannot stop God. A new dawn is coming. The Roman Empire is about to see the Gospel invading every major city.


My friend, don't let the evil of the world discourage you. For "I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord." (Psalm 27:13-14)


Reflection:


What are the things in your world that are bothering you? How does the idea of "God's sovereignty" and "God's wrath" help you to "wait for the Lord"?


Prayer for Today:


Dear God,


It is hard to see the injustice in the world. Some of them are far away, but some are affecting me. God, I confess there is anger in me, and I long for you to bring justice to this world. But God, I am willing to acknowledge that you are still sovereign and in control though I may not see it. You will act according to your own timing. So God, I pray for faith and patience to wait for you. Please help me discern when I should act and contribute, and when I should wait for you to act. I need your wisdom and insight so that I will not run ahead of you.


In Jesus' name. Amen.




48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page