top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 16: The Power of a Second Chance

Reading: Acts 15


Today's reading of Acts 15 is very important. The Jerusalem council confirmed that Gentiles believers like you and me don't need to be Jews (observe Law of Moses + circumcision) in order to be followers of Jesus. Thank God!


But the most meaningful part for me is at the end of the chapter.


Right before they embarked on their second missionary journey, Barnabas and Saul had "such a sharp disagreement that they parted company." (15:39)


You might be surprised. But the truth is, Christian leaders do disagree with one another. Sometimes fiercely.


Now, what were they arguing about?


It not about "something." It's about "someone" - John Mark.


During the first journey, John Mark "deserted" them mid-trip. Paul considered this unacceptable. Mark had proven himself unfaithful and not trustworthy. There was no way Paul would work with Mark again.


Barnabas, however, was thinking about something else.


In the end, Barnabas took Mark and went to Cyprus. Paul, on the other hand, went in a different direction. We don't know if the two ever met again.


So, what was Barnabas thinking?


Everyone needs a second chance


Remember how Barnabas travelled over 600 miles to seek out Saul of Tarsus? Remember how he brought Saul to Antioch and mentored him "for a whole year"?


Back then, Barnabas gave Saul of Tarsus a second chance. Now, he would like to give Mark a second chance too.


Paul was not wrong when he dismissed Mark. But history will forever remember how Barnabas raised up two of the most important leaders in the early church -- Saul of Tarsus and Mark.


How?


The Power of Second Chance


Let's fast forward 15 years or so.


Paul was now near the end of his life, in prison. He wrote his final letter to his protégé, Timothy. In his letter, he wrote,


"Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry." (2 Tim 4:11)


What? Mark? Wait! What are we missing here?


This is roughly what happened.


Barnabas took Mark with him to Cyprus. He gave Mark a second chance. He mentored him just like he mentored Saul of Tarsus. Slowly but steadily, Mark grew mature both as a person and in his faith.


Later, God gave Mark an opportunity to serve with Apostle Peter. It was from Peter that Mark learned the life and teachings of Jesus.


Ladies and Gentlemen, this is how we got the Gospel of Mark!


No Barnabas, no Paul.


No Barnabas, no John Mark, no Gospel of Mark


My friend, how about you?


Yes, "they" may not "deserve" a second chance, but perhaps they do "need" a second chance. For the sake of Christ Jesus our Lord, can you extend a second chance to them?


Reflection:


Do you think Barnabas was taking too much of a risk to give Mark a second chance? What if it didn't work out? Is there someone in your life that "need" a second chance from you?


Prayer for Today:


Dear God,


I am thankful for the example of Barnabas. But God, there is a fear in me. What if I got taken advantage again? What if "they" won't change? Father God, I pray for wisdom and discernment. I need you to guide me as I rethink how I may extend a second chance. Please give me strength and also protect me. As I take my first step, God, please help me to be sensitive to your guidance.


In Jesus' name. Amen.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page