top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 20: Your Best Legacy

Reading: Acts 19


Today's reading is very special to me. I have visited ancient Ephesus before. I know what the "theatre" looks like. In fact, I have stood at the centre of the podium, trying to imagine how I might feel if I were Paul's friends being pushed into the "theatre." (19:29)


The Divine Timing


Do you remember a few years ago, Paul was "kept by the Holy Spirit" from going to the province of Asia? (16:6) He was disappointed. But that was God's way of directing him to Europe.


Now at last, in God's timing, Paul spent almost 3 years in Ephesus. As a result, "all" the people "in the province of Asia heard the word of the Lord." (19:10)


My friend, what we think is the best may not actually be the best, at least for now. There is something called "kairos," divine timing.


Behind the Curtain


As you read this action-packed chapter, I would like to draw the curtain to show you something behind the scene.


While Paul was so busy working in Ephesus, a few friends from Corinth came to visit him (1 Cor. 1:11). They talked about the situation in Corinth and gave Paul a letter from the Corinthian church.


Ladies and Gentlemen, this is why Paul wrote 1 Corinthians.


While Paul's ministry in Ephesus was characterized by miracles and success, his relationship with the church in Corinth was really bad. In fact, I should say "traumatic." There were confrontations and tears.


One thing led to another, when Paul left Ephesus and went to Macedonia (tomorrow's reading), he wrote 2 Corinthians.



"Second Choice" vs. "Best Legacy"


Now, you may know that there are 13 letters of Paul in the New Testament.


However, do you know that writing letters was never Paul's first choice?


Paul always wanted to do ministry and meet people in person. If he couldn't, he would send representatives like Timothy or Titus. Writing letters was at best his "second choice" or even "third choice."


But look! Two thousand years later, what would you say was Paul's best legacy?


His letters!


My friends, I know. I got discouraged too when things didn't go my way. I also wonder why God didn't open doors for my "first choice." And you know, my "first choice" is always the "best choice." Right?


Leave Room for God


It is frustrating to get stuck in the land of "in between normals." It is disheartening when all that we have is our "second choice."


But my friends, take heart. I advise you to pour out everything you have to make your "second choice" your masterpiece.


In God's timing, the divine kairos, He may bring you to your "first choice," like Paul's desire to go to Asia.


OR, your "second choice" might end up being your "best legacy," like Paul's letter.


Either way, don't complain. Do it! And do it with all your heart!


Reflection:


Do you feel that you are prevented from pursuing your dream? Your "first choice"? How can you make your "second choice" a masterpiece?


Prayer for Today:


Father God,


I worship you. You alone know everything. You see a future that I can't see. I put my trust in you. Father God, I commit the things that I am doing to you. It's not what I want to do if I have a choice, but I acknowledge that you may have a better plan than what I can understand now. I pray that you will give me the strength to do it with all my heart and to make it a masterpiece. I will learn to be faithful. Please guide me into my next step at your timing.


In Jesus' name. Amen.

160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page