top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 21: A Holy Stubbornness

Reading: Acts 20


Reading the story of Paul gives me hope. I am not the only pastor who put people into "deep sleep." (20:9)


OK. That's not the point for today.


Take two ...


A Holy Nudge


Reading the story of Paul inspires me.


There was something brewing in Paul's heart. For some reason, he was determined to go to Jerusalem on a tight schedule.


He preached straight through the night because he was running out of time. (20:11)


He skipped Ephesus "to avoid spending time in the province of Asia."


Why?


Because "he was in a hurry to reach Jerusalem" by Pentecost. (20:16)


A Holy Stubbornness


Hurry? Why such hurry?


We actually don't know. The only thing we know is that Paul was "compelled by the Spirit." (20:22)


Not only was Paul in a hurry. He also knew that something bad was going to happen. The Holy Spirit has somehow warned Paul that "prison and hardships" were waiting for him. (20:23)


But you know Paul.


Paul was stubborn. Really stubborn. But a holy kind of stubborn.


In a nutshell, this was what Paul said, "I ... don't ... care."


In fact, "I consider my life worth nothing to me", said the defiant Paul.


A Holy Calling


Paul's single-minded goal was to "complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me." (20:24)


As a man, I am inspired by Paul's defiance. He reminds me of Frank Sinatra's song "My Way"


"For what is a man, what has he got

If not himself then he has not"


My friend, your God is not asking for your time or your talent. Your God is not asking for your money. Your God is asking for you.


Yes, you.


My friend, remember the time when you committed your life to Christ? Remember your desire to serve Him? Remember how much you aspire to a life of service and meaning?


Perhaps it's time to act.


Perhaps it's time to renew your act.


A Holy Sacrifice


Around this time, Paul the Apostle of the Holy Stubbornness wrote the Letter to the Romans. I wonder if Paul was talking about his own journey when he urged the Romans to


"offer your bodies as a living sacrifice" (Romans 12:1)


"Living sacrifice." It means, "I am all in. You have me. I keep nothing for myself."


My friend, I don't know what's God's assignment for you. Actually, it doesn't matter. What I know is that from now on, you will live your life with a new mindset. As Paul has recently written to his friends in Corinth,


"So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God." (1 Cor. 10:31)


My friend, this "all in" faith is what God is trying to nurture in us before we reach the "new normals." In fact, this is the only "reasonable" way of worship in the Kingdom "new normal."


Reflection:


On a scale of zero to 100%, how much would you say you are an "all in" Christian? What is keeping you from committing wholeheartedly to God?


Prayer for Today:


Father God,


Thank you for challenging me today. It got me thinking a lot. I confess that I have been treating you as an afterthought for a long time, and only think about you when I am in trouble. Please forgive me. And father God, you are my God, you deserve to be taken seriously. I want to reorient my life around you. I will seek to honour you in my job, and in my relationship with other people. I want to live a faith that is "all in" with you as my Lord. Please help me.


In Jesus' name. Amen.





30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page