top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 26: Keep God at the Centre

Readings: Acts 25


"I just want to get out! Why am I even here?"


This is a normal response when people are forced into their "in between normals."


I wonder what Paul was thinking when he was in a similar situation. I suspect he also asked "why" too!


But look! There are two ways of asking why. You can ask "why" as an accusation. You vent your frustration and perhaps even accuse God of not being fair to you.


Or, you can also ask "why" as part of your worship.


"God, why am I here? Do you have an assignment for me?"


For a Type-A high achiever like Paul, being kept in custody for 2 years looks like a waste of time. He could achieve a lot more for God if he was out of jail. Right?


But was it really a waste of time?


The Fruitful "Wasted 2 Years"


Do you remember Paul's calling?


Right from the start, God's assignment for Paul was to preach the gospel to "the Gentiles and their kings." (Acts 9:15)


So, what was Paul doing during these "wasted 2 years"?


Yesterday, we read about Governor Felix. Do you know who his wife was?


Her name was Drusilla.


In today's reading, Paul defended himself in the presence of a big group of VIPs. As part of his defence, he actually preached the Gospel to these people! (This is so Paul!)


And, who was the audience?


There was King Herod Agrippa II, his sister Bernice, together with many "high ranking military officers and the prominent men of the city" of Caesarea. (25:23)


Look! My friend! Do you know who was Drusilla, Agrippa, and Bernice? They were all great-grandchildren of King Herod the Great!


Now, can you see it? Everything was unfolding exactly according to God's plan?


There is no "wasting" in God's sovereign plan. The only problem is that we can't see it!


See! During these "wasted 2 years," God created the perfect platform for Paul to speak to the Jewish religious leaders, Roman Commanders, Governors, and now high ranking military officers, and even the royal Herodian family!


And do you know who's in the pipeline? The Roman emperor, Caesar himself!


It's "because of..."


My friend, I know, it's frustrating getting stuck in the land of "in between normals." But listen, there is no "wasted time" in God's economy.


Don't let your situation blind you!


A few years later, Paul told his friends in Philippi that it was exactly "because of" his time in jail that "the whole palace guard" got to know the Gospel? "Because of" his predicament, other Christians were greatly encouraged! (Philippians 1:13-14)


My friend, let's keep asking "why"? But ask it as part of your worship.


"God, why am I here? Do you have an assignment for me? What do you want to achieve "because of" my current situation?"


Keep God at the centre. This is how we journey through the land of "in between normals."


Reflection:


When was the last time when something unexpectedly good happened "because of" a bad situation? What happened? How did that experience help you go through your current challenges?


Prayer for Today:


Father God,


I worship you! You are infinitely wise, and you are always in control! You see things that I can never imagine. I confess that many a time I am discouraged because I am short-sighted and I can't see the possibilities. Thank you for reminding me that you can bring out surprisingly good things not just in spite of the situation, but because of it. Father God, I put my trust in you. I will continue to walk by faith. Please help me take one step at a time, and show me your glory when the right time comes.


In Jesus' name. Amen.








36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page