top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 27: Keep your Heart on Fire

Reading: Acts 26


Reading Paul's speech today inspires me.


You see Paul standing in the middle of a great Roman hall. Sitting at the end of the hall was King Herod Agrippa II, his sister Bernice, and Governor Festus. A big group of high ranking military officers and key city leaders were surrounding Paul. They were not exactly sympathetic.


To say that it is intimidating is an understatement.


What was Paul thinking? How did he feel at that moment?


Then, Paul launched into his speech. He poured out his heart to talk about how he used to persecute the church, how he met Jesus, how the gracious God wanted the Gentiles to repent and turn to God ...


Wait! Does it look like a legal self-defence, or is it more like an evangelistic message?


Paul laid out his arguments skillfully. If you know Aristotle's Rhetoric, you can see Paul mobilizing his logos, pathos, and ethos with full force!


He went so "all in" that Governor Festus stopped him and said, "Paul, you are insane!" (26:24)


So, what was Paul doing here?


A Heart on Fire


He was doing exactly what he was telling the King.


"King Agrippa, I was not disobedient to the vision from heaven." (26:19)


Paul was discharging his duty. However, he didn't just "do the job." You can see that Paul was totally sold in his calling. His calling had become his passion.


Now, Paul wasn't even thinking about his own safety. He was doing everything he could to persuade his audience!


And King Agrippa clearly knew it. He said,


"Do you think that in such a short time you can persuade me to be a Christian?” (26:28)


Paul's heart was on fire.


Favourable or Not


I suspect this episode had etched deeply on Paul's heart. A few years later when Paul wrote to his young colleague Timothy, he urged him to


"Preach the word of God ... whether the time is favourable or not ..." (2 Tim 4:2, NLT)


Paul was right, "favourable or not."


My friend, do you know any "if only" Christian? If only I have a better job; if only I have a better spouse; if only I have a better boss; if only the situation is better ...


If only the "if only" is true.


Paul was right. The days are evil. That's why Paul urged his friends in Ephesus to seize and make the most of every opportunity! (Ephesians 5:16)


My friend, keep your heart on fire! Don't let the environment stop you from being obedient to God's calling. That's how we journey through the land of "in between normals."


Reflection:


What is the one thing in your heart that you know God is calling you to do? You know it, but the situation is never suitable. Do you think God might be calling you to take a step of faith and move forward today?


Prayer for Today:


Dear God,


Thank you for speaking to my hesitancy today. I confess that my fear of uncertainty has stopped me from being obedient to you. Father God, I know you have called me to take a step of faith. Please guide me, help me, and protect me. Please also reveal yourself to me as I follow you.


In Jesus' name. Amen.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page