top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePs. Albert Ng

Day 28: Keep Worship when it is Hard

Reading: Acts 27


In today's reading, Paul finally set sail for Rome!


It's amazing to trace his route through the Mediterranean sea.


But it wasn't an easy journey! The voyage started pretty well. But at a certain point, they missed the good weather. One thing led to another, they got stuck in such a bad storm that they "finally gave up all hope of being saved." (27:20)


Then, after 14 days without food, they managed to eat something before the ship crashed into a sandbar!


That's a scary journey!


Now, what caught my attention was not so much the epic journey. What I really want to know is what's going on in Paul's heart.


Peace amidst Chaos


Do you see the pronoun "we" scattered throughout Acts 27? This indicates that Luke, the author of the Book of Acts, was with Paul right at the beginning of this journey. (27:1)


Luke started by describing the "kindness" of Julius, the centurion who was tasked with the responsibility of taking Paul to Rome. This gives us the impression of a good start.


However, as the voyage became more difficult and dangerous, Paul warned his companion that the journey will be "disastrous" and there would be "great loss" to the ship, cargo, and even human lives! (27:10)


True to Paul's word, the situation became so bad that they had to throw the ship's tackle overboard, cut the ropes to the lifeboat, and even throw all the grain into the sea!


But amidst all these, God appeared to Paul.


"Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar." Moreover, all 276 people on board will also be safe! (27:24, 37)


This was such an assurance from God!


So, what did Paul do?


Worship amidst Chaos


After comforting the sailors, Paul "took some bread and gave thanks to God in front of them all. Then he broke it and began to eat." (27:35)


Wait! Does it remind you of anything?


It reminds me of the Last Supper!


Amidst all the chaos and danger, Paul chose to remember Jesus and worship God!


And he did it in front of all the non-believers! Paul never forgot his mission even amidst all the dangers!


My friend, let's be honest. No amount of words can truly comfort us. No amount of encouragement can bring us real peace of heart! Even after reading the Bible, your heart can still go wild!

So, what makes the difference?


True peace comes when you worship in the midst of chaos.


My friend, this is the best advice I can ever give you.


Let your heart remember. Keep worship when it is hard. This is how we journey through the "in between normals."


Reflection:


How can we worship in the midst of chaos? Why worship amidst chaos can bring such peace in our heart?


Prayer for Today:


Father God,


Thank you for reminding me that I can actually worship you amidst the chaos that I am experiencing. In fact, this is the best antidote to my problems. Father God, I choose to put my trust in you. I have no control over my environment, but you are sovereign over everything. I choose to focus on you and worship you. Please help me to experience you in such a way that honours you.


In Jesus' name. Amen.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 31: Thank you for the journey

My Friends, Thank you for journeying with me during the last 30 days. I am honoured that you would choose to spend a few minutes each day reflecting on the Book of Acts with me. Your gift of time mean

Day 30: Where do we go from here?

Congratulations! You have completed all 28 chapters of the Book of Acts. Well done! Now, you can go back and re-read it again! So, do we know anything about Paul after Acts 28? In fact, we do! After 2

Day 29: The New Normal of the Heart

Reading: Acts 28 Are we there yet? Almost! In today's reading, we finally meet Paul in Rome. But once again, his plan was delayed. "For two whole years, Paul stayed there in his own rented house ..."

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page